Located in the centre of a 26-acre estate in fully landscaped grounds on the Roseland Peninsula, almost surrounded by water. Gerrans Bay spreads out in front of the Georgian Manor House, with the Percuil River to the West. A walk through our own woodland leads to a private quay on Froe Creek. This lower end of the estate looks out over the river, towards St. Mawes, with access out to the surrounding creeks, the Carrick Roads and finally, the open sea.
Trewince, a family run business for over 30 years and with a personal touch is an oasis of beauty and calm within its acres of park and woodland. Near to the villages of Portscatho, Gerrans and St Mawes. Close to tranquil beaches, secluded coves and beautiful countryside with spectacular views where you really can get away from the stresses of every day life.
Falmouth and Truro are a short hop across the River Fal via the King Harry Ferry and with many picturesque villages just a short drive along the coast, Trewince Holiday Lodges is ideally situated for you to explore other sites of interest in Cornwall.
At the centre of the estate is the Manor House …
Lake’s “Parochial history of Cornwall” 1868 records that the present manor house at Trewince was erected in 1750 by the grandson or great grandson of a man named Richard Johns. Quoting from the ‘History of Cornwall Volume 2 Gilbert 1838’ (based on manuscript histories of Hals and Tonkin) the editor wrote that “An extremely good house was built here about the year 1750 by the grandson or great grandson of the gentleman who made the purchase of Trelegar from Mr Trevanian”. Trewince was described as “A very pleasant house of 5 bays 2 storeyed with quoins and a door with an alternatingly rusticated surround (i.e. Gibbs) 1750”
According to the Henderson Calendars (1919 transcripts of unpublished Cornish manuscripts), records of lands at “Trewynsse or Trewense in the Parish of St Gerrans” date back to 1571, and maps from an even earlier date show a dwelling at Trewince. Originally Trewince would have been part of the Tregear Estate – written records are in the Domesday Book 1085.
From the sixteenth century on, the Trewince Mansion changed and developed. Whilst little is known of an earlier building on the site, there was a coach house and cottage, and also gardens, orchards and plantations. The walled garden still intact was filled with flowers and fruit trees.
An advertisement in the Royal Cornwall Gazette Saturday June 3rd 1876 …
Very attractive Marine Residence to be let furnished – To be let by tender, from year to year, furnished with immediate possession. all that genteel and commodious family mansion house and premises called or known as Trewince House situate in the Parish of Gerrans, in the said county. The house comprises capacious drawing, dining and breakfast rooms, with excellent kitchens, and other servants offices, together with 5 bedrooms and 2 dressing rooms, and 5 servants’ bedrooms. There are also good stabling for 10 horses, carriage, saddle and harness room, and a coachman’s residence, also lawn shrubbery greenhouse and large kitchen garden attached. The house commands charming views of Gerrans Bay and the English Channel Falmouth and St Mawes harbours.
Trewince first invited holiday makers onto the estate during the 1950’s. These brochure photos which more than likely date back to the 1960’s/1970’s feature the ‘Modern Comfortable Bluebird Senator Caravans’. Hot water was provided to both floors of the house and kitchenettes were an important feature in the flatlets!
Toilet facilities were in the corner of the walled garden. Showers were in the cellar of the house with slot meters outside the shower. A quick dash for the meter was necessary if the money ran out mid shower. Still in use in 1985 visitors could be seen running and dripping to the shop with soapy hair to complain that the shower had packed up.
In 1985 Peter & Liz Heywood took residence. Over the last three decades they transformed the site with new lodges and leisure facilities. Now privately owned the Manor House is currently undergoing renovations.
In 2012, having grown up in the Manor House as a child before leaving for a career in the Civil Sector, their daughter took over the business and lives locally with her family. Kathy now continues to run and develop Trewince with the same spirit and affection.